Aquatics Blog

NSPF Evolves to Foster Greater Impact

The Board of Directors for non-profit      National Swimming Pool Foundation® elected new officers, announced the retirement of one Board member, and appointed three new Board members. All changes took effect on November 1, 2012.

Mr. D. Scot Hunsaker, President, Counsilman-Hunsaker & Associates, St. Louis, Missouri, was elected President of the Board. He succeeds Mr. John Puetz, Director of Technology at Advantis, a Lonza Company. Ms. Franceen Gonzales, Vice President, Risk Management, Great Wolf Resorts, Madison, Wisconsin serves as Secretary and Mr. G. Bruce Dunn, President of Mission Pools, Escondido, California serves as Treasurer. Mr. Don Witte retired, and the Foundation thanks him for his nine years of wisdom and dedication.

The Board and CEO Thomas M. Lachocki, Ph.D., welcomed new members Mr. Rob Butcher, Ms. Diane Dahlmann, Mr. William Kent, and Judy LaKind, Ph.D. They join a Board that governs the Foundation’s activities as they continue to further the organization’s mission. “The National Swimming Pool Foundation has a 47-year history of enhancing healthier living by increasing aquatic activity through education and research,” said Mr. Hunsaker. “The new members’ unique skills complement the existing Board’s talents to help NSPF continue to define and refine strategic goals and grow in our impact,” he added.

“Our Board brings together strong minds and caring hearts that set our future course and act as our conscience. It is an honor to serve under their direction,” stated Dr. Lachocki.

Meet New Board Members

Rob Butcher is Executive Director of USMS, a swimming national governing body that caters to adults aged 18 and over. USMS, with 58,000 members, is organized with 1,000+ facilities offering Masters programs at 52 Local Masters Swimming Committees (LMSCs). Mr. Butcher is also a competitive swimmer, is recognized for his community activism, and is well connected throughout the sports and swimming world. Since he joined USMS, he has positioned the organization to be a leading advocate in the continued growth of swimming.

Diane Dahlmann, M.S, is the Director of Recreation Services & Facilities, Director of Mizzou Wheelchair Sports, and available on call for the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Faculty at University of Missouri-Columbia. She brings 30 years of successful, creative, visionary experience in leading organizations to implement award-winning services, programs, education, facilities and events that serve communities and organizations. 

Mr. William Kent has been Owner/President of Team Horner, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida since 1972. Mr. Kent was welcomed back to the Board after a one-year departure. His extensive leadership experience in the recreational water industry will continue to help NSPF achieve its mission. Mr. Kent served as President of National Swimming Pool Foundation Board of Directors; he has also Chaired the NSPF Grants Committee and held other leadership positions with the Foundation. Over the years he has served as President of the industry trade association, NSPI (now APSP), and held numerous positions at the Chapter, Regional and National level. He has been recognized many times, including as Man of the Year in Florida, the Florida Hall of Fame, Presidential Honor Award by ISHOF, the US Department of Energy, and TEC Innovation Award.

Judy LaKind, Ph.D., President of LaKind Associates, LLC, is a health and environmental scientist with expertise in strategic risk management, assessment of human exposure and health risks, biomonitoring, scientific and technical analysis for regulatory and state-of-the-science reviews. She is also an Adjunct Associate Professor with the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Maryland School of Medicine and the Department of Pediatrics, Penn State College of Medicine. 


Design vs. Programming

Read More

Neptune Benson Acquires Lawson Aquatics

Read More

How Green is Your Pool?

Read More